The everyday life of an ordinary Mom

Stupid Fingers!!

Ok guys. I’m smack dab in the middle of what started out as a really productive day. Got the girls up, dressed, lunches ready and in the car for camp all by 845 (and let me just pat myself on the back for that, because I suck at time management….and waking up on time in the morning…). I got my oil changed and even remembered to buy an oil plug first (score!). I was the first in line for the oil change, so I was in and out within 25 minutes (can’t really beat that, right?) Went up to Michaels to get a few skeins of yarn to work on a new crocheted baby blanket, and arrived back home at 1100. I have plenty of time before picking the girls up from camp to knock out the majority of this baby blanket – or rather, I SHOULD have enough time to knock it out….if my fingers weren’t being STUPID!!

That’s right, I have a serious case of stupid fingers all of a sudden. For those of you who have never suffered stupid fingers, let me explain. My hands, and those fat sausage looking things sticking out of them, simply refuse to listen to anything my brain says. Simple instructions like “PICK UP CROCHET HOOK” turn into “why not drop the hook 16 times and then kick it across the room?” Or, “UNWIND BALL OF YARN” becomes “make the BIGGEST knot you can possibly imagine, and then get in a fight with the cat about who the yarn actually belongs to.” Hint: Me, but the cat refuses to accept that, and I’m starting to think he may be right.

Once I was actually able to get the hook back into the last stitch and wrap it with the new yarn, I couldn’t for the LIFE of me, get the next loop created. Honestly, I’m pretty sure the yarn has developed an alliance with my stupid fingers and they’re working together to make it impossible for me to work on this. They’re both just laughing at me as I try and try and TRY to remember how to do the simplest stitch!! Even typing this is proving to be a difficult task because of my suddenly self aware appendages. If I posted this they way I’m writing and not fix all the mistakes, it would just be gibberish. Maybe it still is, but at least it’s legable, so that’s a win for me!

The only solution as I see it, is a coffee break. A nice giant, sugary cup of joe should be just the thing to whip my stupid fingers into place! If I ever DO get this blanket done, I’ll post it up in my crafts section, so be sure to check it out and let me know what ya think. 🙂

Leave a comment